News Releases

Essex Region Source Protection Committee Appointed

Monday, Dec. 17, 2007

Windsor/Essex Region - The Essex Region Source Protection Authority has named the members of the Source Protection Committee. "We were extremely pleased with the quality of the applicants," stated Tom Fuerth, the Committee Chairman who was appointed by the Ontario Minister of the Environment in August. "The committee selection panel interviewed twenty-eight candidates for the eight seats not appointed through other processes, and we are confident that the selected candidates represent a broad cross-section of our community."

The number of committee members was determined through Provincial legislation, as was the required equal split amongst the three sectors. The municipal sector appointees were nominated by municipalities with the largest Water Treatment Plants, and then circulated to all for unanimous endorsement. Mario Sonego, P.Eng., Chief Building Official/City Engineer , and Thom Hunt, Acting City Planner were both appointed from the City of Windsor. Lou Zarlenga, P.Eng., Manager of Public Services was endorsed from Town of Amherstburg.

Mayor Tom Bain of Lakeshore and John Kehoe, Manager of the Union Water System, have been appointed as interim members of the Source Protection Committee until the remaining two members of the municipal sector have been finalized.

Of the economic sector, two agricultural representatives were selected through a process facilitated by the Ontario Federation of Agriculture. They are Larry Verbeke of Leamington and John Barnett of Kingsville. Rounding out the economic sector are Hans Peter Pfeifer a Harrow - viticulturist, Jim Vincent, P. Eng., from Canadian Salt, and David Watsa of Colchester representing the aggregate industry.

The final sector is termed the 'Other Sector', and the selected candidates bring a wide range of skills, experiences and representation to the Source Protection Table. It consists of Robert Auger, a Solicitor from LaSalle, Tim Mousseau, retired Public Works Manager from the Town of Lakeshore, Andrew Pula, a Secondary School Teacher from Belle River, Ashley Stevenson, a recent Environmental Science Graduate from Wheatley, and John Stuart, a Chemical Engineer and Water Treatment Plant Production Manager from Windsor.

Provisions have also been made to include a representative from the Health Unit and a liaison from the Conservation Authority as non-voting representatives on the Committee.

"This Source Protection Committee will work with municipalities, the Province of Ontario and most importantly, the residents of this community to develop plans that will ensure the protection of our sources of our drinking water for generations to come," concluded Fuerth. "After all, ensuring that we have clean water now and into the future is a serious responsibility, and one in which we all must share."


For more information:

Stan Taylor, P. Eng.,
Director, Source Water Protection
(519) 776-5209 ext. 354

Tom Fuerth, Chair
Essex Region Source Protection Committee